Are We Wearing Blood Clothes?

Today is a really important day, but maybe you don’t know that. The reality is that most people in the west don’t pay too much attention to today. On 24 April 2013, 1133 people were killed and over 2500 were injured when the Rana Plaza factory complex collapsed in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Its a statistic unless you let yourself looking into the faces of the people these types of tragedies effect.

Honestly, two years ago, when the tragedy first occurred, I didn’t pay pay enough attention either.  “What can I do about it?” I thought. “Sad, but I’m small and I live so far away!” My thinking, though has drastically changed!  It changed when I started to educate myself about the realities of the clothing industry.  Now I say, “How can we ignore the deaths of 1133 people?”  Tragically, these 1133 deaths and 2500 injuries represent only a small fraction of the toll for the fashion industry.

Are you willing continue purchasing blood clothing? If not…  Educate yourself.  Make better purchasing decisions. Buy vintage. Sew your own.  Sign petitions for better work conditions and pay.  Be willing to pay more and buy less.  Sacrifice a little of your westing pride for the lives of these people.

Leave a Reply

